Posted by: youluckybum | April 5, 2010

Law of Attraction


I believe in the Law of Attraction.  It’s that plain and simple.  I have worried and thought negatively about stuff, only to have it get worse. And I have looked ahead and thought about what I wanted, not what is and my life got better.  I gave myself a month “off” when I was looking for a job.  Decided I had worked my whole life and it was okay to just take a month off and not worry about finding a job.  I still worked on my resume, signed up for a substitute teaching class, and did what I thought would support my desire to get a job.  And then because I gave myself permission to have the month, I just didn’t stress about it too much.  When I thought about it, I tried to stop and either pivot away from worrying or to think deliberately about already having a new job. 

It worked. Within five days of giving myself permission to take a month off, I had a new job!  Not only that, but it is the best job I have ever had!  It’s flexible, interesting, somewhat creative and the work environment is absolutely positive and amazing!  I have a beautiful view of green trees and grass and I learn something new every day!  It is exactly what I wanted in more ways than I probably know!

So now I am trying to be more of a positive thinker.  I can honestly say I have not really been much of a positive thinker. More a worrier. Or a person that talked too much about what they didn’t like.  And I have often wondered why it seems easier to think in a negative way instead of in a positive way.

For example, why do parents always tell their kids, “Be careful! Don’t fall down.”  What a dumb thing to say!  Me included.  Why not something a bit more positive, encouraging and even fun, like “Oh wow, you are a really good climber, and I am so impressed with how great you are doing!”

I think this subject alone has changed my life in so many ways.  I catch myself more and more now, and I either pivot to something completely unrelated, but more positive or I think about what I DO want, not what I don’t want.  If you have never tried it, I encourage you to do so.  Let me know how it goes…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

