Posted by: youluckybum | April 19, 2010

What is happiness?


Lately I have been pondering the subject of happiness.  What makes me happy?  What makes someone else happy?  Is it true that money can’t buy happiness?  What is happiness?  Is it as simple as a clean kitchen and a napping child or pet?  Or is it more complicated?  And if so, in what way?

I am looking at this partially through someone else’s eyes as well.  If I am not free and I want to be, then I guess I may not be happy.  If I am feeling poor or fearing the idea of losing my job, then I am pretty sure I wouldn’t be happy.  But there is a problem with this.  If happiness is based on a condition like freedom or wealth, then we may never be happy.  Because once the first condition is met, what happens? Another condition takes its’ place and the vicious cycle repeats again and again and we are no closer to happiness.

So….the bigger question is..can we be happy right now in this moment without the condition?  Without the freedom we desire, without the money we want, without the job security we crave.  Can we be happy?

If not, I am doubtful that true happiness can really be achieved.  There is always something more we will desire, hope for, etc.  It is the nature of life.  And if our happiness is dependent on never-ending conditions, we are poised for great disappointment, I think.

I believe happiness is an inside job.  And I believe it is a job that we can do right here, right now.  Otherwise, what is our alternative?

Leave a Reply

Categories

