Posted by: youluckybum | April 29, 2010

Pollyanna’s Plus


I got another ah-ha moment yesterday as I was leaving for work.  I LOVE ah-ha moments!! I always try and take a minute and appreciate them and to realize how profound they really are even when they never sound so important when I try to describe them to other people.  Maybe that’s the point.  Everyone’s ah-ha moments are personal, private and so unique to them that they are not really something you can share.

I am going to try and share anyway.  If for no other reason, than I have it written down and can refer to it later.  So in one sentence, my ah-ha moment was the realization that a negative thought brings negative emotions and a positive thought brings positive emotions.  That seems easy enough.  But think about it.  Haven’t you ever felt crummy or irritated and you really don’t know why?  I have.  And now I know that my thoughts have taken me to this place that is making me feel bad. 

Pollyanna had it right all along…make lemonade from lemons.  In other words, there is a lot of power in staying positive.  If you can’t make it, fake it.  Why?  Because negative thoughts beget more negative thoughts and likewise with positive thoughts.  Why would anyone want to spend their day in anger, depression, fear, revenge, frustration, etc if they dont have to? 

Am I saying that negative emotions are bad?  No.  Am I saying to ignore your feelings? No.  I am saying that once you are aware that you are in the negative spectrum of your feelings, it is time to take some sort of inventory.  Are you still angry about the TV repair man from yesterday?  Are you still stewing about the comment a co-worker made? Are you thinking of 10 ways to get revenge for some thing in the past?  Where are your thoughts?  In what time zone?  Past, present or future?  AND most importantly, are your thoughts serving you? 

I spent three months licking my wounds.  I had to.  There was no other way for me.  I had to get down to the core of myself.  I pushed people away and they left gladly.  I am not saying not to feel negative emotions.  Go ahead and feel them.  I am saying that on a daily basis, where do you live?  Do you live building mountains, walls and mine fields?  Or do you live as happily and positively as you can?

I know what I want.  I want to catch those negative thoughts when they first begin to feel negative and I want to Pollyanna them right back into something more positive, something more proactive and something that FEELS better.  Maybe not necessarily good, but it feels better. 

Did I get all this in my Ah-Ha moment?  Not really.  Ah-Ha moments for me are more of a feeling and then a quick realization or a quick realization and then a feeling.  Either way, they only get bigger when I try to explain them.  But the saying, “Your thoughts create your reality,” has a lot more significance to me now.  If my thoughts are negative, then my reality is going to be more negative.  If my thoughts are more positive, then that will be my reality.  Again, not earth-shaking news for many.

The point I am trying to make is that I am not going to wait so long to pay attention.  When I start to feel off, I now see the value in dealing with it as soon as possible.  Does this mean I will never scream or rant and rave again? Probably not.  But I am not as afraid of that either.  There is a time and place to let those negative emotions go and I feel better knowing that there is a way back from them that is easier than just dropping off to sleep in pure exhaustion or having enough drinks or food to dull the pain.

The other aspect of positive thoughts for me is the gift of inspiration, creativity, or just bliss that can come when I am in a pure sense of appreciation, acceptance or understanding.  There is nothing better.  There is no feeling that matches that.  And the flip side, the negative side is definitely something that I can live without…..most of the time.  🙂

Responses

  1. Wow, this blog is amazing and so insightful! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and observations.


Leave a Reply

Categories

