Posted by: youluckybum | May 16, 2010

From negative to positive in 60 seconds


I am a true believer in the Law of Attraction.  I have seen it and more importantly, felt it, work in my life.  So last night as I was tossing and turning at 200am, I realized my thoughts were really starting to make me feel bad.  I had been dreaming something that was very negative and it woke me up.  As my thoughts continued on that path, my gut started to really hurt which made me realize that I was headed in the wrong direction.  Especially at 200 am when I really want to get back to sleep, not plan the private attack of the century.

So I deliberately and consciously worked at finding one positive thing, one positive attribute that I could be grateful for in this person that was causing me so much stress.  It took several minutes because I am really not very good at it.  But I finally came up with something that I felt good about.  That led to another thing, and finally a third thing.  My focus on this allowed my stomach to calm down and before I knew it I was feeling better and thinking better.  No more “stinking thinking!”

I feel like someone with a grand secret!  This really worked!  I went from negative to positive in less than a minute.  Once I found that first positive thing, it was so much easier to find the second and the third.  I also realized I didn’t have to go any further.  The job was done.  I had successfully stopped my downward spiral of negative thought and I wasn’t tossing and turning anymore.

Which brings me to wondering if this isn’t why so many religions and faiths ask us to see the “light”, “source” or “enlightenment” within each other.  I don’t know if I would necessarily go that far, but I will say that I do believe we are all motivated by what we believe to be right, righteous or fair.  In other words, most people don’t sit around thinking of mean things to do to us.  They truly believe they are doing what is right, fair or will make them happy.  The rub comes when their choices for happiness hurt others.  It is an ancient issue and not one that I can solve I am sure.  But I can see that other people are never going to do it “my way” just because I want them to.  I get that.  What I now understand is that I can choose to feel better about anything.  I may not agree, understand or be happy with what someone else has chosen, but I can at least move out of anger, hatred, revenge, frustration, fear or depression.  And I want and need to do that.

There will always be someone or something that causes me a negative thought; that’s life.  I believe that is actually the juice of life.  If everything was always the way I wanted it to be, life would be pretty boring, I think.  The difference for me now is understanding that when I start to feel that burn in my stomach, it is a sign to stop and take note.  Take note of what I do like, appreciate or find happiness in.  Not make lists of all the things that are wrong, bad or unfair.

This is a huge jump I will admit.  When you secretly want to have a temper tantrum or throw something, it is difficult to “look for one positive thing” about someone.  But now I understand that I am doing it for myself, not for them.  I need to feel better, regardless of what they are doing.  They are not going to change because I want them to.  But I can.  I can go from negative to positive in 60 seconds!

Leave a Reply

Categories

