Posted by: youluckybum | June 11, 2010

Proactive versus Reactive


I use to use this term at my previous job a lot.  Management would wait for a fire before responding to a lot of things, and I prefer to be proactive.  I finally realized I could still be proactive, because no one told me I couldn’t. ( a whole different blog).

Today I am contemplating my own life and the idea of being  proactive.  I have to admit I am not being proactive.  I have been purging the old, but I have not actively pursued anything new.  In fact, I think I have avoided a lot of possibilities.  Which is okay, given the transitions in my life right now.  I am not going to be hard myself about that.

However, it is time. It is time to “sharpen the saw” as Covey would say.  It is time to start meeting a new, easy, fun, relaxed, joyful, happy, abundant, healthy life in the middle.  What does that mean?  It means I need to start asking some questions of myself.  Who do I want to become?  Not just who am I.  But more importantly and actually more deliberately, “Who and where do I want to be?”

I like goals.  I always have.  But I have learned to be more flexible too.  I like setting a goal, knowing I can always change it if I want or need to.  But having a focus, a direction, a desire is good for me.  I function and thrive better when I push myself.  I also feel better about myself in general.

So I am going to contemplate this for the weekend.  Where can I be more proactive in my life?  Anyone care to share their ideas on being proactive?

Leave a Reply

Categories

