Posted by: youluckybum | July 22, 2010

When you know what you dont want.


So I know what I don’t want.  I don’t want a frenzied day at work.  I don’t want the pile on my desk to get bigger.  I don’t want hundreds of interruptions.  I am clear.  I know this.

However……..the more I think about what I do not want….the more it seems to appear (subjective, I know) and more importantly, the more grumpy, depressed and inefficient I get.  This part is huge people!  Regardless of the circumstances, the perspective of what is happening is really the key.  So let’s try this again.

I want an easy, flowing, productive, happy, fun, efficient day at work.  I want my desk to clear easily and effortlessly.  I want to work with focus and clarity of purpose and accomplish all that I am wanting to do today.  Wow. I gotta admit this slant on things makes me feel very differently.  It makes me feel hopeful, powerful and energetic.

So….the big ah-ha moment here for me is to focus on what I do want; not on what I don’t want.  The trick is being able to name specifically what I don’t want and then move quickly and easily into what I do want.  I oftentimes get stuck.  I get stuck in the “what I don’t want” category.  Why is that?  If moving on down the process makes me feel better, why do I get sidetracked in the never-ending list of what I do not want?  Definitely something to think about….and maybe more importantly, something to work on.

For now, I am going to go have that easy, flowing, productive, happy, fun, efficient day I was talking about!  Happy Thursday!

Responses

  1. Yes, if we get in a whiny, complaining state about what we don’t want chances are we will get more of it. What we focus on is what we get. What we appreciate is what appreciates. When I catch myself self-pitying I try to catch it and focus on something I feel thankful for. That gets my energy going on a more positive direction and focusing on all the good I already have. It’s like telling the universe I am thankful for all this good, I’m ready for more so bring it on. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    Debra : )
    http://www.TheWarmMilkJournal.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

