Posted by: youluckybum | July 31, 2010

Surprises!


I have decided that I love surprises!  I love being pleasantly and happily amazed at something.  Every day.

So I am focusing on this and pretty much deciding that every day is going to bring me a joyful surprise.  And I think every day probably always has brought me a surprise.  I just didn’t notice.

Sadly, I can’t really go back and look and enjoy missed surprises.  But I can realize that every day has one (or at least one) and wait for it, look for it and then enjoy it immensely when it appears.

The absolutely fun part to this is the fact that every day brings a different type of surprise as well.  Sometimes it is a surprise of nature, like a moonbow (rainbow at night around the moon).  Other times it is a surprise visit or phone call (people surprise), and sometimes it is a surprise of ability like me fixing something that is broken.  It doesn’t really matter what it is, it is just so wonderful to find the surprise.

Each of us has to decide for ourselves what a surprise is to us.  Sometimes I don’t see the surprise as a surprise until later.  That can be a lot of fun too.  I sometimes contemplate my day and realize later, “Oh!  That was a real surprise!”

The best part of this for me is the anticipation of the day.  I wake up to my day differently.  I wake up wondering and anticipating and thinking about some of the things that I would consider great surprises for the day.  Fun!

Try it!  Try anticipating little pleasant gifts coming to you throughout your day!  Watch for them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

