Posted by: youluckybum | August 1, 2010

How do you unplug?


I find that when I take the time to slowly move into my day with a cup of good coffee, and a few minutes of contemplation, my day moves along better.  Having time to myself in the morning has always been important to me.  I use to get up at 430 or 500am to meditate before getting the kids up and driving them to school each morning!  I look back on that now, and am truly amazed at myself!

Without realizing it, I knew even then that I needed that time.  And I have always been willing to get up early to give it to myself.

I know everyone is different and that we all don’t need the same things.  But it does make me wonder.  How do other people connect with themselves?  I also have decided that I need to find a way to quickly and easily connect with that calmness during my day.  Sometimes I can just feel the tension and stress within me building and I feel like I really need to disconnect from all of that and relax. I need to find a way to do that pretty much on command at work, or even out in public.

I don’t find that visualizing a peaceful spot really works for me.  I am too hyped up to really go there in my mind when I am stressed.  Some sort of mantra has worked somewhat.  Repeating, “All is well in my world,”  over and over again does help a little.  I think it helps to focus my thoughts away from the stressful situation for a brief time.  Deep breaths help for the amount of time I do them, but again, it is more just a quick distraction.

I think a hot towel around by neck and shoulders, and the Beach Boys playing would probably do the trick, but that would probably not be practical at work, or while in my car.  So….I ask, what do you find that works for you?

Leave a Reply

Categories

