Posted by: youluckybum | December 12, 2010

Trust and/or Lemonade


My mother use to call every negative thing that happened to me a “character-building experience.”  By the time I was twelve or thirteen, I had decided I had enough “character” and the Gods could move on to the next kid.  Then the saying, “When life hands you lemons, make lemonade” came into popularity.  This funky psycho babble stuck with me for quite a while, and I genuinely did look for the pearl inside the oyster, etc. etc.

As an adult, I realized early on that I learned the most from the  “character-building, lemon-producing” times in my life. Painful as they may have been,  these events are the ones that helped me become a better person, usually.  The good times gave me joy, scrapbooks full of pictures and a warm feeling in my heart.  But the tough times helped me to learn compassion, empathy, strength, determination, honesty, generosity and humility.

I have recently had a new notion about all of this and it has to do with trust and maybe even faith.  I am beginning to think that when life hands me a lemon, my degree of resistance or refusal to accept the circumstances has a direct relation to the outcome.  The more I fuss and fight, the worse the whole situation becomes.  The less I do so, the easier and less complicated it seems to be.

This doesn’t seem to be such a spectacular realization but it truly is; for me anyway.  When my brand new cell phone wouldn’t let me unlock it this past weekend, I started to do what I always do.  I got online and looked to see what other people did and how to fix it.  Then I went digging for the paperwork so I could take it back (an hour’s drive one way!) and get a new one, etc, etc.   As I got in the shower trying to not get myself worked up about my brand new phone not working, I relaxed and realized that maybe I was supposed to get a new phone and that for some unknown reason, this was actually a blessing in disguise.

As that thought popped into my mind and my body started to relax, my son appeared in the hallway and I asked him about it.  In less than 60 seconds, he had the battery out, put back and the phone working perfectly again!  Wow!

So as I relax into the “character-building lemons” of my life, I do believe the solution, or answer or next logical step appears soon thereafter.  It is definitely worth a try.  What have I got to lose?

Responses

  1. Nice! I’ll have to remember this. Even if the solution doesn’t appear any more readily, losing the stress is definitely no loss!


Leave a Reply

Categories

