Posted by: youluckybum | February 5, 2011

A Bat and A Box


Who knew?  Who knew that a bat and a box could cure migraines?  Yep,  it seems to work well for me!  I am stocking up on cardboard boxes and I have an aluminum bat at the ready.  I take the box, write the name of the person or thing that I am wanting to pound and go outside behind the house and bat it to death.  It is the best practice I have right now.  Probably because I have a life time of anger, disappointment, hurt, sadness, etc. etc. to pound out.  I also am very proud to say that I am not stuffing these feelings with food anymore!  This is a MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH and something I have wanted for a very long time.

I am a true believer in the Law of Attraction and have therefore been hesitant to allow myself to go to feelings that were not what I wanted to have come back to me.  But I am beginning to understand the importance of working or feeling my way through the feelings.  In other words, I can’t just walk away from anger.  I have to let it out somehow so that I can be done with it, instead of just parking it in a holding pattern for a later date that never comes or stuffing it down with food.  This realization has come after developing migraine headaches and being forced to stop everything and just lie still.

With the help of a counselor I am learning that my negative feelings are really not as scary and big and awful as I always believed them to be.  I am also learning that these feelings can come up quickly and aggressively, but that they will pass.  I have been pleasantly surprised at how wave-like my feelings can be.  I can feel really irritated and bothered and go into the feelings and quickly move into sadness and grief and then move on to another set of feelings.  The process can be exhausting, but I think that is partly due to the magnitude or depth of the pain.  As the old stuffed feelings are allowed out and brought to light, I believe this whole process will get easier and less debilitating.

The best part of this is the connection I am developing with myself.  I am checking in with me more and I know that is a good thing.  As I am more aware of my own feelings, the tendency to stuff them, ignore them or rationalize them is less.  For someone who has been so mentally overactive as myself, this is definitely a change for the better.

So try it.  Try the bat and the box technique.  Even if you don’t feel angry or upset, just try pounding that box a few times and see what happens.  I recommend it wholeheartedly.


Leave a comment

Categories